Is Dirk Wagner A Spammer?
May 12, 2008 – 11:56 amI got a disturbing comment on an old post about one of Dirk Wagners old Crazy Weekend deals, claiming that Dirk Wagner was sending out spam. After contacting the reader to see if there was any truth to this, and reading through the material provided, I decided to approve the comment. I also decided to write a post about it, because it seems pretty disturbing and very alarming to me that someone I’ve seen as a pretty decent and serious marketer would engage in this type of criminal activity.
The spam-mail in question looks like this:
Oferta que vale la pena mirar.
Pack compuestos por Software, Video Marketers Tool Kit,
Plantillas,eWriter Pro y Internet Marketing Lost Secrets entre otros.
Lo más asombroso es el precio de cada uno y como si fuera poco,
licencia de reventa a través de una replica de esta web con tu login
de PayPal para tu cobrar directamente y sin intermediarios.Visitanos en en el siguiente link
http://www.dirkscrazyweek.com/previous.html
It offers that it is worthwhile to look.
Pack composed by Software, Video Marketers Tool Kit,
Plantillas,eWriter For and Internet Marketing Lost Secrets among
others.The most astonishing thing is the price of each one and as if it was
little, resale license through one replies of this web with your login
of PayPal for your to get paid directly and without middlemenVisit one another in in the following link
http://www.dirkscrazyweek.com/previous.html
I don’t know a single word of Spanish (ok, i know how to order eight beers but that’s about it), so I can’t comment on the language and grammar on that part, but the English part… It doesn’t seem to be written by anyone naturally fluent in English. This leads me to the conclusion that Dirk didn’t send out the mail, which in turn leads to the conclusion that it must be someone trying to get a quick affiliate-commission. But as you can see, it’s not an affiliate-link being promoted. The only one making a couple of bucks on this mail, is Dirk Wagner.
The way this type of spam works, is that it uses a bot-net (hijacked computers running a quiet irc-app with bot-scripts waiting for commands from the bot-master) to send out mails from innocent peoples computers, using an existing email-address in the “from” and “reply-to” parts of the mail-headers. When a mail bounces (gets sent back due to the recipient being non-existant), it goes straight to email-address in the reply-to part of the header. When it gets delivered, the unsuspecting company seems to be the sender, which can easily lead to the innocent company’s ip and domain being black-listed, which makes the delivery of legit, genuine mails from the victim company pretty much impossible to servers that use the black-lists.
With that technicality out of the way, I’ve been a victim of this type of sender-spoofing myself a couple of times, but the mails sent using my return-addresses have never promoted products by Internet Marketers, only viagra, drugs, Nigeria-scams and other well-known types of scams. I’ve always reported these to SpamCop and other organisations myself to avoid my domains being blacklisted.
Although the mail doesn’t seem to be written by Dirk Wagner or anyone working for Dirk Wagner, could that possibly be a way for the sender to disguise her/himself? “Sure, I made the money, but I didn’t write the mail!”. If Dirk or one of his staff didn’t send out the mail, why the h**l is he the one making money from any possible sales? It is well known that between 0.1% and 0.3% of the recipients of spam actually click through and sometimes even purchase. It is also well known that you can purchase a mass-send of an email to any number of recipients for a pretty low price. So if this mail goes out to 1 million receivers, Dirk stands to make money from 1-3000 visitors.
So the question is - Is Dirk Wagner A Spammer? What do you think? Have you been the victim of sender-spoofing?


4 Responses to “Is Dirk Wagner A Spammer?”
Hi Bjorn,
In my definition a spammer is someone who sends email to people that haven’t subscribed to the email list and I can’t see any mention of this in your post above. I also don’t think you can call Dirk a spammer if someone else is hijacking his email server to send email.
To me a spammer sends unsolicited emails and don’t act according to the CAN-SPAM law, like having a physical address in the email and so on. According to that you Bjorn could be called a spammer since you don’t use all the required information in your emails. I’m not saying you are, but in one way of looking at it…
Regards,
Lennart
By Lennart Holmin on May 12, 2008
Hi Lennart,
Yes, spam is the common term used when describing unsolicited, commercial emails. If a spammer had hijacked Dirks server and sent out spam, it’s not very likely that these messages would have contained links to Dirks own products. I dont think the spam mails actually came from Dirks server, and that was not the point. The point was that the commercial spam message sent out, was promoting Dirks products - without any affiliate-id (hence, any sales made would have been credited to Dirk).
That plus the falsified headers in the mails - making innocent businesses receive a crapload of bounce-messages - is what made me ask for your opinion and comments
Could it possibly have been Dirk, and if not - why would someone else send out spam messages that only Dirk stands to profit from?
And I do appreciate you mentioning the fact that my mails haven’t contained the mandatory physical mailing address - that was one of the settings that disappeared when I changed mailing-system, server and domain
- since I didn’t even know they weren’t :O
/Bjorn
By Bjorn on May 12, 2008
Hi Bjorn -
I was hoping that Dirk was innocent, but it seems that he (or someone acting on his behalf) is up to his old tricks.
My server - or at least my domain - is being used to send emails that clearly promote Dirk’s business and where he certainly stands to gain.
It is my sincere hope that he is innocent. However, he has not published any contact information on his site (odd considering how easy it is to have VOIP and anonymous email accounts these days). He uses a domain protection service which is run by alleged criminals (why not just use Network Solutions for this?)
Anyway - I’m now dealing with a flood of bounce-backs from failed email addresses from the latest round of spamming.
Chris
By Chris on May 13, 2008
Hi Bjorn -
I wanted to give you and your readers a further update.
Dirk and I have discussed the situation and we cannot find any reason for this activity to be happening. Dirk has taken down the page which was promoted in the spam and replaced it with the reason why it was removed: http://www.dirkscrazyweek.com/previous.html
Also Dirk clearly states a zero tolerance to spam here: http://dirkscrazyweek.com/8/5/c/affiliates.php
Given how helpful Dirk has been in his replies, and how quickly he has come back to me, I want to publicly retract any suggestions (overt or implied) that he has instigated incorrect marketing techniques.
However, I should also state that my company keeps receiving these bounce backs, so something concerning is still happening.
Thank you to you, and your readers, for your time and attention to this matter.
Chris
By Chris on May 14, 2008